The Peace Tour Award has been jointly set up by the Madariaga-College of Europe Foundation (MCF) and the Europe-China Cultural and Educational Foundation (ECCEF), the European branch of the Peace Tour Committee – World Famous Chinese Artists Global Painting Peace Tour Committee – in order to grant awards to outstanding Chinese students or researchers studying in the European Union.


The Awards programme strives to promote EU-China relations, mutual understanding and people-to-people dialogue. The programme will focus on granting an award each year to ten Chinese students and researchers studying in Member States of the European Union. As more and more Chinese citizens undertake higher education in the EU, such an event will have a positive long-term impact on EU-China relations and on the promotion of cultural and educational exchanges.

This first year (2014), ten awards will be presented to ten outstanding Chinese students or young researchers currently enrolled in the field of physical sciences and engineering. They will act as bridges between European and Chinese research communities and as academic ambassadors for China in the EU and for the EU in China.


The two partners have designed the project to be an on-going cooperation, for an initial period of five years, covering a different academic field each year. As more and more Chinese students study in the EU, such an event will have a long-term positive impact on EU-China relations and increase academic cooperation between Chinese and European universities. In the coming years the project will set up more structured cooperation, opening up to different disciplines and involving a larger number of universities to ensure that an increasing number of students can benefit from it.


The project has received the support of the Chinese Vice-Premier Liu Yandong and the Chinese Ministry for Education, and the European counterpart, EU Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, Ms Vassiliou. The first Awards Ceremony will be held in Beijing during the next High People to People Dialogue (HPPD), to be organised at the end of May 2014.


This programme is aimed only at:


- Master students, PhD students or post-doctoral researchers who are currently undertaking a master’s degree, PhD or post-doctoral research in a European university (EU).

- who are of Chinese nationality

- who are under 35 at the time of the awards ceremony

- who are enrolled in the field of Physical sciences and engineering


An article published in an academic journal or a monograph published by a leading publisher in the scientific field, together with the executive summary of the Master or PhD thesis or post-doctoral research project, the CV and academic records of the candidate will form the basis of the jury’s selection.


Applications will be examined by a jury chaired by Dr Javier Solana and composed of high-level academic experts from the specified field, as well as representatives of MCF and Peace Tour. There will be three categories of awards, according to the quality of the scientific work of the winners:


First prize: three awards of 10,000 euro each

Second prize: three of 8,000 euro each

Third prize: four of 5,000 euro each


Hors concours awards by ECCEF: two awards for outstanding visiting scholars (3,000 euro each).


ECCEF reserves the right to nominate for an accessit prize two candidates not selected by the jury.


Please find below the application package. Application forms must be downloaded, completed and returned via email to Ms Maddalena Malgarini, ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ), with Ms Ariane de Bellefroid, ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ), in copy.



Application Form


General Regulations




List of Topics


Members of the Jury


Deadline for application: 24th of April (midnight, CET).

Contact information: Ms. Maddalena Malgarini This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or +32/(0)